Cancun

(I know everyone loves to hear about other’s vacations and looking at a billion vacation pictures, so feel free to skip over this post if you want.  This is more for me than you.  Just being a little selfish.)

This year, my coworker/friend Abbie and friend April, were celebrating their 30th birthday by going to Cancun.  I had never been out of the country and I was more than happy to accompany them on this trip.  There were 6 of us going; Abbie and her husband Rodney, Sarah and her fiance’ Andreas, April and myself.

A lot of interesting events happened during the whole vacation.  When we went to check into the hotel in Dallas, they didn’t have our reservation or a parking spot for our friends to stay at while we were gone.  They finally found our reservation under “Adkie Thitlipps” which is not Abbie’s name, but close enough.

In the DFW airport, Rodney saw Ruben Studdard, (the winner of the second season of American Idol), so we hunted him down until we found him the candy store and got a picture.
He actually wasn’t really pleasant to us, which he probably should be glad anybody recognized him at all…  It also may be because we just asked him to take a picture after he got a crap load of candy from the candy store.  Eh?

We get to the hotel in Cancun and the reservations for me were all screwed up.  After about 45 minutes of talking things over, we got it straightened out.
We go up to the room and the view made everything better.
How could one stay upset when you can sit out on the balcony and look at this?

 We quickly got into our beach gear to soak up the rest of the beautiful day.
Sarah, April, Me, and Abbie.
We spent a lot of time laying by the pool, hanging out at the beach, and sipping cute and fruity drinks like this:

We went on a zip line excursion which was a lot of fun.  I don’t have any pictures from that yet, but here is a video of the same place we went to, just different people.  You don’t have to watch the whole 5 minutes, but it’s to just show you what we did.

I’m not going to lie, I was scared and I might have peed my pants just a tiny bit the first time I did it.  We did a total of 12 zip lines, some longer or faster than others.  The group of guys that were helping us were awesome and they made the experience so much better.  After the first two zip lines I actually started to enjoy the scenery of the jungle instead of thinking about plunging to my death.  Sarah, Andreas, and Rodney did a zip line upside down.  It looked like fun, but there was no way in hell I was going to do that.  I was proud of myself that I even did the zip line in the first place.

We then drove ATVs around the jungle, and went to the Cenote, which is basically a beautiful water hole to swim in.

We were at an all inclusive resort and they had a nice little lobby bar that all of us got together at one night.  I believe this is the only picture I have of all 6 of us.  We were about to take a Rainbow shot, which was pretty delicious.
The girls

I did end up getting a cold on Sunday.  Who gets sick on a vacation?  Apparently I do.  I brought Kleenex to the beach and was full of snot the entire rest of the trip.  Yes, I whined about it, but I didn’t let it ruin my vacation.

While I was gone, the OKC Thunder had two games to play against the Spurs.  Did we watch them?  Of course.  Our resort did not have the channel that it was on , so we walked 1/4 mile down the strip to the Outback Steakhouse.  Unfortunately we did not win either of those games.

I’m a very fair skinned person and my friend Abbie is as well.  Her husband Rodney and Andreas had gotten pretty bad sunburns on the first day.  Abbie and I applied 90 SPF 4-5 times a day, but on the last day we decided to not apply it as much.
I did this most of the last day we were in Cancun:
Which resulted in this at the end of the day:
I’m very aware that this picture is not cute at all, but I have to show how miserable I was. If you’ll notice, I also have a nice raccoon sunglass line going on. I’m not naked in this picture, although I had to sleep that way because it was so painful.  My sweet roommate April didn’t mind my incessant whining, or if she did, she hid it well.  That night we had gone to Outback to watch the Thunder game and I was having such bad chills that I wore Abbie’s jacket. In Mexico. 80 degree weather.  The sunburn plus my cold equaled my body hating me.  I couldn’t even stay and finish watching the game because I felt so awful.  It was a bad game all around anyway, but that’s another story.

Luckily we made it back safely, my sunburn is a little better, and my cold is slowly fading.  All in all, it was a successful trip and a great first time out of the country.

My mother watched Dexter for me and he was a happy boy when he saw his Momma come get him.

The week after next I will be traveling to the Cayman Islands with my best friend Kaylee, and her family for a week.  Two trips out of the country in less than a month?  I know, I know.  Life is rough.

4 thoughts on “Cancun

  1. Oh I am so jealous of your vacation girl!! It looks so beautiful 🙂 I always get sunburn so lately I’ve been hiding in hats and SPF 100000 haha. Use some aloe!

    PS. Your dog is SO cute, its unreal. Such an adorable face!

    • I’ve been using tons of Aloe, it’s helped a bunch! Thank you for the compliment about my dog! He is a sweet boy!

Leave a Reply

