Grand Cayman Part 1

Another vacation post that I’m sure everyone is chomping at the bit to read.  It’s going to be in two parts, because I have a crap load of pictures and we spent a week there.

I went to the Cayman Islands with my best friend Kaylee, her husband Jeremy, her baby E, her cousin Lindsey, and her parents, Gary and Becky, who have a timeshare there.

In Cayman everything is expensive, especially when a couple of weeks ago I was used to cheap Mexico prices.  A hamburger is $17.00, A gallon of milk is roughly around $7.50, and gas is about $6.50 a gallon.  They drive on the opposite side of the road with the steering wheel on the opposite side in the car, and thankfully I didn’t have to drive, even though I got a license just in case.  Gary drove most of the time, and he had a lot of trouble with the signal light (the windshield wipers were there instead) since it was on the opposite side of the steering wheel as well, but if it started raining, he would’ve been prepared.

A couple of views from the balcony:

Kaylee, Baby E, Me and Lindsey at the Dock Bar:Becky loves to snorkel and I had never gone snorkeling in my life.  To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of deep water and I was actually pretty nervous to snorkel.  I have this intense fear of drowning, it may be even a little bit irrational, but I cannot shake it.  Anyway, they decided to take me to Rum Point for my first snorkeling experience.  It’s super calm, clear and only about 4 feet deep.
Rum Point (Beach area) 

Becky, Lindsey, Kaylee, and I were the ones who went snorkeling. Snorkeling was pretty difficult for me in the beginning.  I couldn’t get my breathing down and I kept hyperventilating/panicking.  I was in constant fear of swallowing a bunch of water when I was breathing in.  I finally relaxed, relaxed as much as possible for me that is, and somewhat enjoyed the experience.  Kaylee also held my hand the entire time, which I’m not ashamed to admit.

On the way back to the shore, we saw a stingray coming our direction, and I was completely calm.  Just kidding.  I flipped out and pretty much jumped on Kaylee’s back while screaming.  Everyone told me, including strangers,  that I need to just calm down and panicking doesn’t help at all, that’s how you get hurt.  Believe me, if it were that easy I wouldn’t panic.  Oh, I shouldn’t panic and freak out?  Thanks for telling me. I wouldn’t have known otherwise, I’ll stop now. 

The next day, Kaylee, Becky, and I went snorkeling in the ocean, in front of the hotel.  It was not as clear, and it was also pretty deep in places.  Once again, Kaylee held my hand the entire time.  I didn’t want to stray from them, especially in the middle of the ocean.  It was definitely different swimming out there than at Rum Point.  The current carried us most of the way, but it was a pretty good exercise and we got to see some small fish.  When we got closer to the hotel and dock bar, Becky wanted to swim under the dock to the other side.  I had seen some of the fish while I was standing on the dock before and they looked pretty intimidating, but they were supposedly harmless.  As we get closer to the dock, I see these fish called Tarpon, which are harmless, but big and 5-8 feet long.

The next few minutes were a blur, as my adrenaline shut all of my senses down, and I entered the fight or flight zone.  According to Becky and Kaylee, I popped out of the water and yelled, “Nope. Nope. Sorry. No. Too Big. Sorry.” and as Kaylee was yelling for me that she wanted to head to the shore with me, I was already half way there.  Now, I am not a strong swimmer, or even an experienced one at that.  I don’t dive, swim a lot and I rarely go underwater.  The current was really strong and somehow I swam against it on my way to the shore.  Becky said 3/4 of my body was out of the water and my flippers were going 80mph.  I had to get away from that dock and those huge ass fish.  I couldn’t do it.  I was out of breath by the time I reached shore, but at least I was out of the water.  We all had a good laugh about it on the way back to the hotel, and I vowed to never go near that dock again.

Later that night, we went to Caribbean Night and then took some pictures on the dock.  This first picture Kaylee and I were accidentally posing like a prom photo, so we decided to go with it and make it even more awkward, and Baby E is apparently our love child.

For reals this time, with Jeremy

I also got to eat some Fried Lobster and fried plantains from Over The Edge, which were absolutely delicious. That is all for this post. I will post the rest of our vacation in a couple of days.  I’m trying to get caught up in my real life at the moment, I have to get out of vacation mode unfortunately.

To be continued…

2 thoughts on “Grand Cayman Part 1

  1. Pingback: Swimming Is For The Birds… Or The Fish. Whatever. | The String Cheese Runner

Leave a Reply

