Run It.

While I was on vacation I really didn’t do much exercise.  I swam and snorkeled while fighting killer fish, but that’s about it.  I vowed after I got back from my vacations that I was going to start running again.  I missed it so much.  Surprisingly I only gained three pounds during my vacations/month of not working out, even after all the crap I ate.
   Unfortunately it is now 99-102 degrees in Oklahoma right now, so I must do my runs in the morning or I will die.   I don’t like hate the treadmill, so that’s not even an option.  Last week, I ran an impressive 8 miles total.  Give me a break, I’m starting slow and I did two strengthening workouts on the other days.  I knew I really needed to get back into my strengthening when my flab started having flab.

At work the other night, I had some time to plan out a training schedule for the half marathon I am doing in November.  I ran the Route 66 Half Marathon in Tulsa last year, and I feel that I’m stronger and smarter about running this year, so I will have a better outcome.  I don’t have any races that I want to do in between now and then, so all I have to do is build up my base and start the real training in July.  I chose Hal Higdon’s Novice 1 Training Schedule, which is the one I did last year, but I wasn’t as committed to it as I should’ve been.  This resulted in my injured hip, I believe.  I made a few adjustments to the schedule and plan my long runs for the Saturdays that the OKC Landrunners do their long runs.   Doing my long runs with them helps me tremendously, so I’m sticking to that decision.

I’m really excited to start training.  It’s great to see the results of all the hard work you’ve put into something like this.  Hello running, it’s nice to see you again, I’m sorry I’ve been away for so long.

2 thoughts on “Run It.

Leave a Reply

