Ooooooolympics!

Workout:
3 miles/11:48 pace – 90 degrees
1 minute plank, 1 minute side planks
30 clam shells (both legs), 30 leg lifts (both legs)

SPOILERS AHEAD!   DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN THE MEN’S MARATHON OR THE MEN’S USA vs SPAIN BASKETBALL YET!

The BF and I watched the Men’s Olympic Marathon on Sunday morning.  We were so pumped to see this thing happen.  I’m a huge Ryan Hall lover fan and the BF enjoys his running as well.  

Welllllll… Ryan Hall never really got in front and he continued to get farther and farther behind.  Then the shocking moment of the marathon, he dropped out.  His first DNF ever, I believe. <—don’t quote me on that.
Turns out he was having hamstring issues and he decided to not push it any further and harm his body.  Hard choice, but a smart smart runner.
My heart ached for him.source 

THEN… another USA marathoner, Abdi Abdirahman, drops from the race as well.  I’ve read differing reports on this guy.  One being he had a back injury, the other being a knee injury.  Either way, another sad loss for the US team.source

USA’s only guy left, Meb Keflezighi, ended up finishing in 4th place.  At 37 years old, this was his last Olympic Marathon to run.  Way to go man!
source 

Stephen Kiprotich, from Uganda won the marathon at a 2:08:01 finish.  I don’t know if anyone saw his interview after the race, but who else wanted to pinch his cute little face and give him a hug? No one? Just me?  Alright…
source 

At Red Coyote Pint Run last Thursday, Brooks Shoes held a contest where you write down what time you think will be the winning time for the Men’s Marathon.  I guessed 2:07:17.  You could win a pair of Brooks Shoes, whoever guessed the closest without going over.  I’m curious to see if anyone guessed 2:08 or something.  If not, I may be seeing a new pair of Brooks in my future?

Oh and can anyone tell me who these three guys are receiving the GOLD medal in Men’s Olympic Basketball?

That’s right.  It’s Kevin Durant, Russell Westbrook, and James Harden from the Oklahoma City Thunder!  I thought they looked familiar.
Representing OKC in the Olympics on Team USA along with some no name athletes like Lebron James, Kobe Bryant, Carmelo Anthony, etc..  Just kidding.
Congratulations boys!  A great ending to a sad Olympic day (for me).

It’s been real, Olympics.  I’m glad we shared this time together, but I’ve gotta continue on with my normal life.  No more synchronized swimming viewings when I’m supposed to be doing laundry.   What we had was good…

3 thoughts on “Ooooooolympics!

Leave a Reply

