The Woes of Injuries

I have been doing really well with consistently running at least 4 days a week.

Last Thursday I ran 3 miles at the Red Coyote Pack Pint Run with my friend April and a new running buddy Danielle.  It was a sweaty good time.

I was able to run 3 miles on Friday and then Saturday I went down to my hometown and ran with my friend Sherrie, who is training for a marathon.  I ran 5 miles while she ran 13.1 miles.  We did a somewhat hilly route, and I felt pretty good with my right hip, only stopping to stretch it twice.  I had felt something pop in my quad, but it wasn’t anything painful or significant, just a random pop.

I go home, and as the day goes on my hip hurts worse and worse.  Not only does my hip hurt, there’s a pain in my quad and my right shin is hurting every now and then.  I rolled, massaged, stretched, and iced but nothing really helped.  I was fed up.  I decided to officially go see a Sports doctor.

Monday, my hip was feeling a little bit better, but I made this appointment and I was going to stick with it and get some answers.  Before any X-Rays were taken (which I appreciated since I don’t have insurance), he did all sorts of muscular tests and asks me a ton of questions.  This doctor is a runner and he deals with runners and their injuries all of the time.   I spent about 45 minutes with him, trying to figure out what my issue is.

It turns out that I have a minor adductor strain, a minor quad strain, and a quad contracture that is causing the pulling on my hip.  My psoas is fine.  My hamstrings are pretty flexible (I’ve been working on those babies.)  My quads are too strong and he said I need to stop doing the exercise that strengthens them.  He told me that I need to take it easy, but that I can keep training next week as long as I do take it easy.  Don’t push it.  Ice. Stretch. Walk when I need to.  As far as hills go, don’t avoid them, just take them easy. He also said it would be a good idea to go see my A.R.T. (Active Release Technique) doctor and have him work me over every now and then.

So there’s that.  I was almost positive that I was going to have to sit this training session out and not do the half.  There is hope for the future.  I just wish my right side felt as normal as my left side.  Maybe that will never happen as long as I’m running?

As Enoch says..

6 thoughts on “The Woes of Injuries

  1. I need to find a doctor like that! I’m so fed up with the “if it hurts, don’t run” answers from the ones I’ve seen. Yours sounds incredibly attentive and knowledgable. Stick with him!!
    Great news, too. I’m glad you’ll be able to keep up your training. 🙂

      • thanks! Someone else was having trouble commenting, too. Wonder what the problem is? I’m new to the whole thing so I have no knowledge. 😦

Leave a Reply

