Add A Little Epsom Salt and VOILA!

I ran yesterday for the first time in a week since my doctor recommended I take a week off due to my quad/hip/adductor issues.  I am supposed to take it easy for awhile so my goal pace was between 11:30 and 12:00.  Well wouldn’t you know that I was feeling really good and I had loads of energy.  It’s a shame to waste running days like that doing things easier, but I have to be smart this time around.

I ran at 7:00pm and it was only 90* with a little breeze. It was actually quite pleasant.  I had to keep checking my garmin to make sure I was staying at my target pace because I wanted to go faster, but knew I needed to take it easy.  The last mile I noticed some tightness creeping up on my right adductor.  I glanced at my watch and I was running at 9:30 pace!  First of all, where did that come from?  Second of all, I’m an idiot.  So much for taking it easy.  I slowed down, but I was sad that I could run that cardiovascular-wise, but not physically due to my damn leg.

I know I whine all of the time, but I really wish my right leg/hip would feel normal like my left leg/hip.  Just be normal for poop’s sake!  //whining over//

My splits ended up being 11:56, 11:52, and 10:53.  (I could not go any slower on that last mile.)    I did end my run watching a BEAUTIFUL sunset on the lake.  I tried to capture it the best that I could.

When I got home I stretched, foam rolled and took an Epsom Salt bath.
I used to take these a lot when I first had my hip injury in December and they worked wonders.  You get a pretty warm/hot bath and put 2-3 cups of Epsom Salt (you can get this at pretty much any store.)  You soak in the bath tub for 20 minutes at the maximum.  Be careful if this is your first time because the Epsom Salt baths are pretty potent, so you may want to start out soaking for only 10 minutes.

The benefits for Epsom Salt baths if you are curious:
– Epsom salt is high in magnesium and sulfate and it is easily absorbed through the skin.  Magnesium is very important to our body it helps with muscle control, brain function, and eliminating toxins.  Sulfate aids in production of joint proteins and the formation of brain tissue.
– Improves your heart health.
 Reduces inflammation and joint & muscle pain.
– Stress reliever.
– Helps relieve headaches and migraines.

Have you ever tried an Epsom Salt Bath?  What other homeopathic things do you use for recovery?

 

4 thoughts on “Add A Little Epsom Salt and VOILA!

  1. Thanks for the reminder about Epsom Salt baths! I used to soak my (blackened) toes in one after any hill-filled runs. Thinking a full body one is in order.
    Re: your run. It sounds like you’re in great shape! Keep up that conservative pace and, when your leg/hip starts cooperating, everything’s going to fall into place beautifully.

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I had forgotten how much I like Epsom salt baths too until I saw my big bag sitting in my cupboard.

  2. I need to get some Epsom salt for my back. I always ache after I work!! Awesome job on the run, I loveee when I get a burst of energy and run faster than normal!

Leave a Reply

