Yay For Small Victories!

As many of you know, I work night shift at a hospital in the CCU.  In order for my poor, miserable body to stay awake, I will drink this:

I know it’s bad for you.  I know this.
Why don’t I just drink coffee?  That’s a little better, right?
Coffee stimulates a lot of things in my digestive tract.  I know that it happens that way with most people.
I, on the other hand, have Crohn’s Disease.  This makes things a little trickier.  If I drink a cup of coffee to stay awake at work, I do not have the luxury to go to the bathroom 85 times while my patient(s) are crashing.

 DISCLAIMER: This is not a real patient.  I know my drawings are so realistic that it can be confusing at times.  Easy mistake.

I also don’t frequently talk in text slang to my patients, but when ya’ gotta go, ya’ gotta go.

Alright, I got a little off the subject.  The past three nights that I have worked, last night being a 13.5 hour shift, I have drank water.  I drink water anyway, but I always drink a Diet Coke around 2 in the morning when the sleepiness creeps up.
I did not have a Diet Coke any of these nights… and I was T-IRED.

I don’t normally drink pops on my days off, although I will occasionally at restaurants.  This Diet Coke work habit is something I’ve been trying to break for awhile.  I feel a sense of accomplishment…

Plus, none of my patients had to suffer while I was jammin’ out logs in the loo.
(I’m such a lady.)

Any healthy suggestions to keep awake while I’m working this dreadful night shift?

8 thoughts on “Yay For Small Victories!

  1. I’m impressed that you’re kicking the soda habit. It’s not something I was ever stuck on, but I know it’s hard to lose.
    I’m a coffee drinker, but more out of habit than the keep me awake.
    What about 5-hour energy, sobe energy waters, FRS…do any of those affect you negatively?

    • I’d rather not do those energy waters, I don’t usually like the taste of them. I’m just going to try to make it through until I no longer have to work nights. haha. Good plan, right?

  2. I loveee your dramatization. Mine are always black and white and much less detailed. I lovee coffeeee, but know what you’re saying about going to the bathroom a lot. Whenever I need energy I eat a lot of green’s or fruit. It gives me a boost. You might not have that luxury either though!!

  3. 1)Thank you for putting a disclaimer on that picture, I didn’t realize it was fake! 2) I too have Crohn’s (blerg) and fake sweeteners are horrible for your gut! Soda is my biggest vice on my sweet tooth, but I’d rather drink a coke and work off the calories than drink a diet pop. Have you tried Zevia? Its soda thats calorie/carb free but has caffiene. I thought it was pretty good, and I’m sure I’d get used to it if I drank it more often. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

