Colonoscopy Time!

WARNING: If you get grossed out about stuff, you should probably skip this post.
I didn’t include my pictures, so be thankful for that.

I had my 6th colonoscopy yesterday along with an EGD.  I decided to add on the colonoscopy (I know, what was I smoking?) in order to rule out ALL bowel and stomach possibilities.

The Prep actually was the best prep I’ve had in years, and I always say that the prep is the worst part of a colonoscopy.  Not eating, drinking clear liquids, drinking salty awfulness, and sitting on a toilet all the time is not my idea of a good day.  As with most things, it’s temporary and it got me closer to an answer on what my dealio is.  The Prep this time was a whole thing of Miralax, which is TASTELESS!!  I was also supposed to drink 10 oz of Magnesium Citrate, but I didn’t.  I’m probably the worst patient ever.  I really am.  Before you start judging me, I didn’t drink the Mag Citrate because my stool was already the color it needed to be (clear yellow.)  IF it wasn’t that color, then I would’ve drank it.  I didn’t figure there would be any harm… and there wasn’t, everything was visualized just fine.

Nicholas went with me since I was to be sedated and needed a driver afterward.  I have sucky veins so after 2 attempts my nurse got my IV in the wrist, which wasn’t pleasant.

Once I got into the procedure room, I was a chatty Cathy, probably because I was a little nervous.  I don’t think the CRNA who was giving me the drugs was in a talky mood so he gave me some Versed real quick.

Next thing I know I’m waking up with my doctor and Nicholas at my bedside and I’m farting passing wind (that’s more lady like) like crazy.  They pump you full of air and it’s imperative you expel that air or you will be in a lot of pain.

Good News:
-No ulcers
-My bowel looked normal, no sign of active Crohn’s anywhere!
-Esophagus looked normal
-Small Intestine looked normal
Bad News:
-Gastritis in the body and antrum of my stomach
He took a biopsy of this, suspecting H.Pylori
– GERD
– Acid Reflux

While all this stuff sucks and it’s painful, I am so blessed that nothing worse showed up.  I’m a hypochondriac so I always think the worst of things.  I was suspecting ulcers, diverticulitis, and maybe even a fistula.  Thank God none of those things were there.

I have a suspicion that my diet is affecting my stomach and I’m beginning to wonder if I have a gluten intolerance.  I know a lot of people are doing it as a fad/diet nowadays, and I know a couple of people who have Celiac disease and they absolutely CANNOT eat gluten.

I’ve decided to do a two week stent of no gluten foods.  I don’t think it’s going to be easy, but I’ll be looking online for recipes and blogs that have gluten free ideas.  If this helps me feel better, then it will be worth it to stick to it.  A small price to pay to not feel sick and be in pain.

In other health news:
++ My hip still feels better after the cortisone shot, it’s weird not having that pain there.  Surgery is still inevitable, but this is nice while it’s lasting.

++ I think my kidney infection might be cleared up or getting close to it.

++ I also have bronchitis now, I can’t resist…. ain’t nobody got time for that.  Well apparently I do now.

THANK you to everyone who has been praying for me and sending good thoughts out.
It means so much that all you people care about me!  I have the best family and friends a girl could ask for!

One thought on “Colonoscopy Time!

  1. jesus lady 6th??? I have only had one and I hated the prep. that drink you had to drink… I had to hold my nose to get it down. I am actually happy to hear they found something, it at least gives you some answers.

Leave a Reply

