Back Among the Living

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted, sorry.

I started back to work after being off for 3 months.  I’m not going to lie I was nervous because this job can be very physical at times and I didn’t know how my hip was going to handle it.

I’m only working two days a week for awhile, however they are still 12 hour shifts.  If you’ve never worked 12 hour shifts before, especially as a nurse, you cannot appreciate the energy it saps from you.

My first day back, they had mercy on me and gave me a pretty easy patient.  I did help out with other patients, (lifting, turning) and I was on my feet quite a bit.  I work 7 am to 7pm, so at 4:30pm, I was D-O-N-E.  Physically, mentally, hip-ally.

I usually feel the swelling the next day, so that’s when it’s the most painful and sore.  I just basically try to take it easy, ice, and ibuprofen if it gets too bad.  Unfortunately my doctor said that it could take up to a year before the swelling goes away from being on my feet.  Fortunately he stressed that once I start back to work, I need to listen to my body and cut down on my at home exercises.

I’ve been scheduling an off day between work, but I’m still in PT so I go on those days.  Maybe not a wise decision, because my PT decided to incorporate some crazy lunge and squat routines into my exercise mix.  I can tell it really helps stabilize my hips though.

Everything has just been so crazy with starting work, trying to find a new place, and driving back & forth for 1.5 hour drives.  It’s hard to keep track of the days.  I am actually excited for Christmas this year, it’s always fun to see the little kiddos excitement when opening presents.  They are both at the age to where their personalities really shine.

If I don’t post before then… Have a Merry Christmas!!

photo

 

Leave a Reply

