Paleo/Primal Lifestyle

I’ve been researching the past few months about the Paleo lifestyle.  Mainly for the health benefits, one being decreased inflammation in the body.  I have not been able to start it yet, as you have to cook almost everything from home (at least to start out.)  As you know, I do not have a home yet, I have been jumping around from family to friend’s houses while looking for a house to buy.  This snowy weather has not helped the buying process since most people aren’t so keen on putting their house up for sale when it’s 19 degrees out and 4 inches of snow.

Back to Paleo, though…

I have my own digestive problems, along with joint issues.  My Crohn’s disease is pretty much under control with the standard american diet (SAD), although I shop mostly at Sprouts and Whole Foods when I can.  That doesn’t mean that the SAD is the best choice.

There are many books that I’ve read recently that I would recommend you to read if you’re interested in trying the Paleo lifestyle.
Here are the links to them:
Wheat Belly
Practical Paleo <— My favorite
Against All Grain
Well Fed
It Starts With Food

Obviously switching to this way of eating will not be easy.  I am going to give myself a couple of months to see how it effects me.  I’m sure I have food intolerances that I’m not aware that are causing me these muscle aches.  I recently found out that I’m allergic/intolerant to bananas.  I have been for awhile, but it never connected until the other day that the banana was what was causing my burning stomach issues.
I was under the impression that bananas were healing for the stomach, so that’s what I ate when I started getting the acid reflux last year.  Little did I know that I was just making things worse.

Apparently bananas give me horrible stomach cramps, burning, and diarrhea.  Go figure.  No telling what else I’m eating that I’m intolerant to and it’s coming out in the form of muscle aches and pains.

If I could just get rid of the pains, or at least minimize them significantly, I would probably be on the road to running again.  It’s my goal this year.  To run.  That’s all.  It’s my light at the end of the tunnel and I WON’T GIVE UP.

I’m still doing my Muscle Activation Technique and I will be doing some private sessions for the Feldenkrais Method.  Once I start them, I will give a little bit more details about it.

I refuse to accept defeat with this muscle/hip stuff.  It’s burdened me for too long and I am ready to rid myself of it.

For now on this wintery/snowy day; I will cuddle with Dexter, sip my coffee and watch old I Love Lucy reruns.
dexphoto

Leave a Reply

